HAVANA.- (ACN) Beijing 2015 World Pole Vault Champion, Yarisley Silva finished first in the Cuban Athletic Cup underway at Havana’s Pan American Stadium.

With a discreet 4.40 meters, Silva easily finished first although she is still far from her best performance earlier this year.

Alicia Laporte (3.60) and Karelia James (3.40) followed the Cuban star who finished second in London 2012 and first in the Continental event in Toronto 2015.

In the 400-meter hurdles Leandro Zamora finished first on Thursday with a time of 49.94 seconds, followed by Jose Luis Gaspar 50.65 and Lazaro Rodriguez with a 52.01; in the women’s division, Zurian Hechavarria finished on top.

Hechavarria, with a time of 56.79 seconds did not give his rivals options, Nairobis Vicent (58.50) and Claudia Becquer (1:00.62) got silver and bronze respectively.

Liadagmis Povea won in the women’s triple jump with 14.28 meters while in  the men’s 10-kilometer walk went to Ronaldo Hernandez, with a mark of 44:14 minutes and Yuniabel Contreras 52:33 finished first in the women’s division.

Among the outstanding performance was Yaime Perez in the finals of the discus getting Gold with a throw of 65.57 meters.

Denia Caballero (64.08), World Champion in Beijing 2015 and bronze in the  2016 Rio Olympics finished second.

In the men’s 100-meter race Roberto Skyers finished first with a time of 10.06 seconds; and in the women’s division Arialis Gandulla finished on top with 11.43.