HAVANA.- The Caribbean Confederation of Professional Baseball (CBPC by its Spanish acronym) made official that the 2019 Caribbean Series will take place at the Rod Carew National Stadium of Panama City, starting next February 4.

Commissioner Juan Francisco Puello affirmed in press release that the contest will redesign its format to receive six squads after adding the host Herrera Toros.

The others, as it is already known, are Las Tunas Leñadores (Cuba), Estrellas Orientales (Dominican Republic), Santurce Cangrejeros (Puerto Rico), Lara Cardenales (Venezuela) and the Jalisco Charros (Mexico).

Venezuela criticized the withdrawal of the headquarters originally assigned to Barquisimeto, but confirmed its presence in the tournament.

"From the Bolivarian Government we will give all the necessary support to our champions, so that they participate in the competition," said Pedro Infante, Minister of Youth and Sports.

Puello, on the other hand, assessed as "traumatic event" the finding of a new scenario, but noted that "thank God the work paid off," and added that the 2020 edition will also include six teams.