HAVANA.- (ACN) Cuban cyclist Arlenis Sierra, finished tenth in the Giro d'Italia 2017, contest won by Dutch Anna van der Breggen with time of 25: 39.43 hours.

Sierra had a full time of +6.19 minutes behind the winner, who was followed by Italian Elisa Longo (+1.03) and her compatriot Annemiek Van Vleuten (+1.39).

Van der Breggen, Rio 2016 Olympic champion in the road event and monarch of this same competition in 2015, thus ties with two crowns in the history of the also known as Giro Rosa with Spanish Joane Somarriba, Lithuanian Edita Pucinskaite and American Mara Abbott, but remains one shy from the three titles achieved by her countrywoman Marianne Vos (2011, 2012, 2014).

The tenth and final stage was won by American Megan Guarnier, last year champion, who was escorted by Australian Amanda Spratt and Polish Katarzyna Niewiadoma, while Sierra finished eighth.

Sierra, who runs for the Kazakh team of Astana, had an amazing performance as she also finished 11th in the classification by points after scoring 40 units.

Iraida Garcia, the other Cuban attending this major event and who is enrolled in the modest local side of S.C. Michela Fanini Rox, ranked 85th in the individual general classification.

The 2017 Giro Rosa, women´s biggest cycling tour, is a 10-day stage race attended by 24 professional squads.

Giro Rosa 2017 Individual General Classification:
1. Anna Van der Breggen (HOL) 25:39.43 hours.
2. Elisa Longo Borghini (ITA) +01.03 minutes.
3. Annemiek Van Vleuten (HOL) +01.39.
4. Megan Guarnier (USA) +02.57.
5. Amanda Spratt (AUS) +03.26.
6. Katarzyna Niewiadoma (POL) +03.58.
7. Lucinda Brand (HOL) +04.12.
8. Karol-Ann Canuel (CAN) +05.26.
9. Claudia Lichtenberg (GER) +06.09.
10. Arlenis Sierra (CUB) +06.19.